Skip to content

Vegetarian “Big Mac”

January 1, 2012

New Years Eve equals drinks, great food, celebrations… and hangovers! Hangovers equal Advil, TV, and fast food. Not the ideal mixture for your body to recover. I’m the first to admit that I used to love Bic Macs, especially after a night out. But then I stopped eating meat (except for fish) and started being more aware of what I feed my body. Now, I don’t deal with the awful feeling I used to get after munching on fast food. However, I’ll also be the first to admit that the taste of a Big Mac still to this day is one of the most addicting tastes I’ve ever tried.

That’s why, I was so excited when a friend of mine referred me to this: http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/Recipes/story?id=1892372&page=1#.TwD6lzVR34U. The secret to the addicting taste of the Big Mac dressing, and a great recipe for a healthier version of the famous burger. I changed it up a little bit by making it vegetarian. It was amazing and I’m so happy that I can start eating “Big Macs” again, this time without stomach aches and ceiling high calorie and fat numbers. I’m lovin it.

You need:

  • 2 bun bottoms and 1 bun top (100% Whole Wheat)
  • 2 vegetarian patties (I buy the Portabella Fresh Veggieburger from the brand Franklin Farms)
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped onion
  • 1 dill pickle
  • 1 slice vegan cheese
  • a bit of romaine salad

For the dressing:

  • a good quality organic Thousand Island dressing (about 4 tablespoons)
  • organic yellow mustard (about 2 tablespoons)
  • a pinch of sugar
Preparation:
1. Chop the onion and cut the pickle in thin slices.
2. Mix the dressing.
3. Put some olive oil on a pan and grill vegetarian patties a few minutes on each side. When one of the patties is almost done, put the cheese slice on top. Also, put the buns on the pan and grill for a minute or two.
4. Place 1 bun bottom on a plate. Spread on 1 tablespoon sauce. Place the cheeseburger, cheese-side down, on the bun. Spread 1 teaspoon sauce on the second bun bottom and place, sauce-side down, on the cheeseburger. Top with the remaining 1 tablespoon sauce, the onion, lettuce, pickles, the remaining burger, and the bun top.
Serving suggestion: Serve with a side of the South American Corn Salad with Avocado as seen in the most precious post.
From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

