Skip to content

Fresh Grilled Flounder with Tomato/Mozzarella Salad and Mashed Yams

January 9, 2012

Yesterday, I decided to take a challenge… The 21-Day Primal Blueprint challenge. Mark Sisson, author of one of my favorite blogs (marksdailyapple.com) and my most recent purchase “21 Day Total Body Transformation”, has created this book to show that you will see results (as in, feel more energized, gain muscle, loose weight, etc.) if you Go Primal. If you haven’t heard of the Paleo lifestyle yet, you should check out Mark’s blog. It is a really cool concept, and after weeks of reading, I’ve decided to take the challenge. The main roadblock lies here: ZERO grains. In addition, no processed foods and sugar in general. The last two won’t be too hard for me, however, living without grains is a whole new concept for me. If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I love pasta. But Mark has proposed knowledge and proof that I might improve my health even more by ditching grains. So I’m going to try it! Not to loose weight, but to become more fit, gain muscle, and obtain even more energy than I already have. Although going Primal includes eating a lot of meat, I believe I can live the lifestyle by eating lots of the meat I allow; fish and eggs. Besides those two, I’m going to continue my love for vegetables.

So, dear reader, from now on, you are probably mostly going to see recipes for meals that fit into a Primal Lifestyle… but that’s good because then you can be inspired to improve you health as well. I will say this: I am not one to waste food, so I will not throw things out that I already have in my¬†refrigerator. I will use what I have, and then start bringing the right stuff into the house. No more processed! And no more grains.

This recipe is my first attempt (bringing in some mozzarella might not be completely ok, but hey, I’m slowly getting adjusted) to eat primal. Also, I now eat omelets for breakfast instead of oatmeal, and I’m liking it already. Dinner won’t be that much of a change, and fresh fish and vegetables will never get old anyway. So here we go.

You need:

  • Fresh flounder ( recommend 2 per person)
  • Spices for the fish (I used my seafood mix, but chose whatever you like, or even just salt and pepper)
  • Olive oil
  • Yam(s) (I only used 1 since I was just cooking for myself)
  • A bit of butter
  • A bit of milk
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • A pinch of nutmeg
  • Tomato
  • Mozzarella
  • Basil
  • Onion

Preparation:

1. Cut the tomato, onion and mozzarella in slices. Put on your plate as follows: tomato, mozzarella, onion, tomato, etc. Top off with basil, a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper. On to the mashes yams.

2. Cook the yam(s) in a pot of boiling water until you can easily stick a fork into it. Take out of the water, take the skin of and cut into small cubes.

3. Put the cubes in a blender and add butter, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a bit of salt and pepper. Blend until smooth.

4. Now we are just missing the fish: Pour a bit of olive oil on the fish. Grind some salt, pepper, and your preferred spice on. Grill on a pan for a few minutes on each side.

 

Bon Appetit!

 

From → Inspiration, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

