Skip to content

Nourishing and Tasty Vitamin-Bomb: Carrot Soup with Sweet Potato

April 9, 2012

This post has been a long time coming… I found this recipe on http://www.altfordamerne.dk/opskrifter/opskrifter/butternut-gulerodssuppe/ a few weeks ago, and couldn’t wait to try it. So I bought the ingredients, got all my cooking gear out, including a new blender, and went to work. After getting to the last step, blending the soup, I blend it… and there is soup E.V.E.R.Y.W.H.E.R.E! Turns out, this new blender of mine has a top AND bottom that can be taken of. So careful where you turn! I learned that the hard way… Anyways, I was so disappointed, my delicious creation was splashed all over my clothes and the kitchen floor. While cleaning it all up, I did manage to get a taste, and it was so good, I knew instantly that I couldn’t let this be the end of me and the carrot soup.
A week later, psychological wounds heeled and clothes washed, I tried again. And this time, I was super careful with the blender, and it turned out fantastic! My family and I loved it. Try it, and love it. But watch your blender!

 

You need:

  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • coconut oil
  • about 2 teaspoons of cumin
  • about 2 teaspoons of coriander
  • about 2 teaspoons of turmeric
  • 4 small sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 kilo of carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 liter vegetable fond (preferably home-made, see my recipe on this blog)
  • 1 can organic coconut milk
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 centimeter of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
  • Greek yogurt and parsley for garniture on each serving
Preparation:
1. Saute onions and garlic in coconut oil in a large pot. Add the spices and saute for about a minute – don’t let the spices burn!

2. Add chopped carrots and sweet potatoes together with the vegetable fond and coconut milk, and let the soup cook for about 20-25 minutes.

3. Let the soup cool off and add lemon juice, ginger, and salt before blending.

4. Reheat the soup over the stove. Serve hot with a tablespoon of yogurt on top, and some chopped fresh parsley. Velbekomme!

 

From → Inspiration, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

