Skip to content

Protein Burger Buns

February 9, 2013

Gosh, sometimes you just need a burger! Like a real one, not one where the “buns” are bell pepper or zucchini.

I had one of those days last week, and also, my better half was getting a little tired of being my guinea pig (had tried some experimental recipes earlier that week, and he was in desperate need of some “normal” food, as he calls it), so I decided to make burgers. Ha, you know me well enough to guess that I obviously didn’t go to the supermarket to buy burger buns, ground beef, ketchup and cheese. Come on! Instead, I found this recipe on one of my new favorite blogs: http://proteinopskrifter.dk/okologisk-protein-burgerbolle-glutenfri

I changed it up a little bit, but the idea is the same.

Now, I thought, the person who made this recipe is a GUY so it will probably be accepted by my better half as well. You bet it did! He took a bite and his first words were: “These taste like regular bread!” Mission accomplished.

I actually made some pretty delicious crab cakes to put inside these burger buns (and instead of ketchup, I served garlic aioli, YUM!), but you’ll have to wait for the recipe for them… they were eaten so fast, I didn’t get to take any pictures. Next time!

You need:

  • 50 grams of quinoa flakes
  • 50 grams of chestnut flour (you can use buckwheat flour instead, that’s what the original recipe uses)
  • 250 grams of skyr (which is packed with protein)
  • 2 tablespoons of psyllium seed shells (in Denmark, use the brand HUSK)
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • Spices (I used oregano and pizza-spice, how original, I know)

Preparation:

1. Mix quinoa flakes and chestnut flour in a bowl.

2. Add salt, seed shells and spices. Mix with a large spoon.

3. Add skyr and mix until it all holds together pretty well.

4. Form buns out of the dough (this will make about 3 buns, depending on the size) and place them on a sheet of baking paper on a baking tray.

5. Bake them in the oven on 200 degress Celsius for about 25 minutes. You want them to look golden-ish.

6. Let them cool off… and done!

IMAG1159IMAG1160

 

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

